Charles University Faculty of Law

Dean's Measure N. 13/2017

Rules for the Internal Governance of the Faculty of Law of Charles University

The Rules for the Internal Governance of the Faculty of Law of Charles University are hereby stipulated in order to implement Art. 6 (3) of the Constitution of the Faculty of Law of Charles University:

Article 1

Faculty Bodies

(1) The self-governing academic bodies of the Faculty are:

- a) the Academic Senate;
- b) the Dean;
- c) the Research Board;
- d) the Disciplinary Commission.

(2) The Secretary to the Faculty is regarded as a body of the Faculty.

Article 2 Faculty Units

The Faculty is subdivided into the following units:

- a) academic departments;
- b) institutes;
- c) centres;
- d) the Library;
- e) the Dean's Office.

Article 3

Academic Departments

The following academic departments are incorporated in the Faculty:

- 1. Department of European Law;
- 2. Department of Financial Law and Financial Science;
- 3. Department of Foreign Languages;
- 4. Department of International Law;
- 5. Department of Economics;
- 6. Department of Civil Law;
- 7. Department of Business Law;
- 8. Department of Political Science and Sociology;
- 9. Department of Labour Law and Social Security Law;
- 10. Department of Environmental Law;
- 11. Department of Legal History;
- 12. Department of Administrative Law and Administrative Science;
- 13. Department of Legal Theory and Legal Doctrines;
- 14. Department of Physical Education;

- 15. Department of Criminal Law;
- 16. Department of Constitutional Law.
- (3) Each academic department is governed by a Head appointed by the Dean upon consideration of the Academic Senate. The Head appoints the Academic Secretary to a respective Department.
- (4) The Administrative Secretary of each respective Department is a non-academic employee of the Faculty whose responsibility is to fulfil administrative tasks set by the Head and the Academic Secretary of the Department. As to the employment relationship, an Administrative Secretary is subject to the powers of the Secretary to the Faculty.

Article 4 Institutes

- (1) The following institutes are incorporated in the Faculty:
 - 1. Institute of Copyright, Industrial Property and Competition Law;
 - 2. Institute of Legal History.
- (2) Each Institute is governed by its Director appointed by the Dean upon consideration of the Academic Senate. The Director appoints the Academic Secretary to a respective Institute.
- (3) The Administrative Secretary of each respective Institute is a non-academic employee of the Faculty whose responsibility is to fulfil administrative tasks set by the Director and the Academic Secretary of the Institute. As to the employment relationship, an Administrative Secretary is subject to the powers of the Secretary to the Faculty.

Article 5

Centres

- (1) The following centres are incorporated in the Faculty:
 - 1. Centre for Comparative Legal Studies;
 - 2. Centre for Legal History Studies of the History Institute of the Academy of Science of CR and the Law Faculty of CU;
 - 3. Centre for Legislation;
 - 4. Centre for Medical Law;
 - 5. Centre for Legal Skills;
 - 6. Centre for Alternative Dispute Resolution.
- (2) Each Centre is governed by its Head appointed by the Dean upon consideration of the Academic Senate. The Head appoints the Academic Secretary to a respective Centre.
- (3) The Administrative Secretary of each respective Centre is a non-academic employee of the Faculty whose responsibility is to fulfil administrative tasks set by the Head and the Academic Secretary of the centre. As to the employment relationship, an Administrative Secretary is subject to the powers of the Secretary to the Faculty.

Article 6

Library

- (1) The Library is a unit of the Faculty responsible for providing access to legal information collections and to electronic information resources and databases. The Library provides librarian and information services also for the public.
- (2) The Library may be subdivided into sections.
- (3) The Library is governed by the Director appointed by the Dean. The Director is accountable to the Dean for the regular operation and management of the Library.

(4) Employees of the Library are non-academic employees of the Faculty. As to their employment relationship, they are subject to the powers of the Secretary to the Faculty.

Article 7

Dean's Office

- (1) The Dean's Office is a unit of the Faculty subdivided into offices and autonomous sections.
- (2) The Dean's Office is composed of the following offices:
 - 1. Finance Office;
 - 2. Information Technologies Office;
 - 3. Science, Research and Publication Activities Office;
 - 4. Faculty Secretariat;
 - 5. International Office;
 - 6. Facility Management Office;
 - 7. Student Registry;
 - 8. Human Resources Office;
- 9. Public Relations Office.

(3) The Dean's Office incorporates the following autonomous sections:

- 1. Investments Section;
- 2. Section for Life-Long Education of Lawyers JURIDIKUM;
- 3. Section for the Associate and Full Professorship Procedure;
- 4. Section for Life-Long Education, Student Research Activities, Third Age University and Prizes and Awards;
- 5. Section for European and Institutional Projects.
- (4) Each Office is governed by its Head appointed by the Dean upon consideration with the Secretary to the Faculty and the respective Vice-Dean. Each Office is to fulfil tasks assigned by the Dean, the respective Vice-Dean and the Secretary to the Faculty. The Head is accountable to the Secretary to the Faculty for the regular operation and management of the Office.
- (5) Offices may be subdivided into sections. The internal structure is determined by the Secretary to the Faculty upon an initiative of the respective Head.
- (6) (6) The autonomous section is governed by the Dean through the respective Vice-Dean or the Secretary to the Faculty.

Article 8

Transitional provision

Should this Measure introduce a change in the name of any Faculty unit such change is to be incorporated in the identification and communications devices (head-letter paper, stamps, business cards, door labels, etc.) in both printed and electronic formats without unnecessary delay, but not later than by 31 December 2017.

Article 9 Effect

This Dean's Measure becomes effective on 1 October 2017.

Prof. JUDr. Jan Kuklík, DrSc., m.p. Dean

Transitional provisions of amending Dean's Measures

Dean's Measure N. 2/2018 to amend the Rules for the Internal Governance of the Faculty of Law of Charles University

Article II Transitional Provision

The establishment of new centres is to be incorporated in the identification and communications devices (head-letter paper, stamps, business cards, door labels, etc.) in both printed and electronic format without unnecessary delay, but not later than by 30 April 2018.

Dean's Measure N. 6/2018 to amend the Rules for the Internal Governance of the Faculty of Law of Charles University

Article II Transitional Provision

Changes introduced by this Measure are to be incorporated in the identification and communications devices (head-letter paper, stamps, business cards, door labels, etc.) in both printed and electronic format without unnecessary delay, but not later than by 30 September 2018.

Dean's Measure N. 18/2018 to amend the Rules for the Internal Governance of the Faculty of Law of Charles University

Article II Transitional Provision

Changes introduced by this Measure are to be incorporated in the identification and communications devices (head-letter paper, stamps, business cards, door labels, etc.) in both printed and electronic formats without unnecessary delay, but not later than by 31 March 2019.